Related Services & Industries

Litigation & Advocacy

Related People

David W. Stark



Dave Stark Receives Colorado Lawyers Committee Outstanding Sustained Contribution Award

Media Contact: Marylee Moore, +1 202 589 2804,

Denver (19-May-2017) - Colorado Lawyers Committee recently honored Dave Stark, Partner in the Business Litigation and Wealth Management practice groups, with the 2017 Outstanding Sustained Contribution Award. The award is the organization’s highest honor. It recognizes an individual lawyer whose longstanding support and extensive contributions to the work of the Colorado Lawyers Committee has notably and positively promoted the mission of the organization, and has made a significant difference in the lives of Colorado’s children and underserved. Michael McCarthy presented the award at the organization’s annual luncheon.

Throughout his career, Dave has demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to the work and mission of the Colorado Lawyers Committee. Dave has been an active member of the Colorado Lawyers Committee for more than 15 years. During this time, he has served continuously as the Chair or co-Chair of the Children’s Task Force. Dave is also a member of the organization’s Board and Executive Committee. Through his leadership, he has guided the organization through innovative expansion efforts, including the creation of a Young Lawyers Division. Dave’s focus while chairing the Children’s Task Force has been on education issues and equal access to services for immigrant and special needs children. Recently, Dave led a team of lawyers who successfully argued on behalf of autistic children enrolled in Medicaid that they were denied crucial treatment options by the State in violation of federal law. In 2015, he filed an amicus brief in a major education lawsuit, alleging that the State’s school funding cuts are a violation of the Colorado Constitution.

In addition to Dave, several firm members attended the event, including fellow CLC Outstanding Award Recipient (2014), Bill Callison, and Tom Carroll, Michael MacPhail, Michael McCarthy, Heather Carson Perkins, Todd Walker, Candace Whitaker and Mary Will.

Founded in 1978, the Colorado Lawyers Committee is a nonpartisan consortium of more than 65 Colorado law firms dedicated to creating and increasing opportunities for children, the poor and other disadvantaged communities through advocacy, negotiation and litigation. The lawyers who donate their time through the Lawyers Committee focus primarily on major public policy issues and systemic change.


Transmission of information to us via this feature does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Do not send any information that you would have treated confidentially.