March 31, 2008

The Best Lawyers in America 2008 Includes 79 from Faegre & Benson

Eighty-one Faegre & Benson LLP lawyers are named in the 2008 edition of The Best Lawyers in America—an increase of 8 lawyers over the previous year.

The listing includes 64 lawyers from the firm's Minneapolis headquarters, more than any other law firm in the state of Minnesota. Faegre & Benson also has the most lawyers listed in Minnesota in the categories of Construction, Corporate, Environmental, Land Use & Zoning, Mergers & Acquisitions, Real Estate, Securities, and Tax Law. 

Twelve lawyers from the firm's Denver office, two lawyers from the Boulder office and two lawyers from the Des Moines office are also named on the list.

The following Faegre & Benson lawyers are listed in The Best Lawyers in America 2008 for the indicated practices. Individuals noted with the number 10 or 20 have been listed in this publication for at least 10 or 20 years, respectively.


James H. Carroll — Mergers & Acquisitions Law; Venture Capital Law
Darrell M. Daley — Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights Law


J. David Arkell — Construction Law
J. William Callison — Corporate Law; Non-Profit/Charities Law; Tax Law
Charles D. Calvin (10) — Real Estate Law
Leslie A. Fields — Eminent Domain and Condemnation Law; Real Estate Law
James D. Leonard — Entertainment Law; Sports Law
Michael S. McCarthy — Commercial Litigation; Insurance Law
Linda L. Rockwood — Environmental Law
John D. Shively — Antitrust Law
James R. Spaanstra — Environmental Law
John R. Sperber — Eminent Domain and Condemnation Law
Douglas R. Wright — Corporate Law; Mergers & Acquisitions Law; Securities Law

Des Moines

Michael A. Giudicessi (10) — First Amendment Law
Kim J. Walker — First Amendment Law


Scott A. Anderegg — Real Estate Law
John P. Borger (10) — First Amendment Law
Philip L. Bruner — Construction Law
Kerry L. Bundy — Franchise Law
William R. Busch — Corporate Law
Reid Carron (10) — Labor and Employment Law
Jay D. Christiansen (10) — Health Care Law
Angela M. Christy — Real Estate Law
Richard A. Duncan (10) —Antitrust Law; Environmental Law; Timber Law
Delmar R. Ehrich — Environmental Law
Bruce M. Engler — Corporate Law; Leveraged Buyouts and Private Equity Law; Mergers & Acquisitions Law
Charles S. Ferrell (20) — Real Estate Law
Hubert V. Forcier (20) — Employee Benefits Law
Myron L. Frans (10) — Tax Law
Jack Fribley — Mass Tort Litigation; Personal Injury Litigation
Gary L. Gandrud — Land Use & Zoning Law
Philip S. Garon (10) — Corporate Governance and Compliance Law; Corporate Law; Mergers & Acquisitions Law; Securities Law
John B. Gordon — Commercial Litigation
J. Hazen Graves — Non-Profit/Charities Law
David J.F. Gross — Intellectual Property Law
Peter C. Halls — Construction Law
Douglas J. Heffernan (10) — Employee Benefits Law
John H. Herman (10) — Environmental Law; Land Use & Zoning Law
John H. Hinderaker — Construction Law
Andrew G. Humphrey — Corporate Law; Mergers & Acquisitions Law
Susan L. Jacobson — Corporate Law
Steven C. Kennedy — Corporate Law; Securities Law
William L. Killion — Franchise Law
Kenneth A. Liebman — Intellectual Property Law
Calvin L. Litsey — Intellectual Property Law
Thomas M. Mayerle (20) — Real Estate Law
David B. Miller — Corporate Law; Securities Law
Thomas G. Morgan — Corporate Law
Richard A. Nelson (10) — Employee Benefits Law
Timothy M. O'Brien — Construction Law
Patrick John O'Connor, Jr. — Construction Law
James A. O'Neal — Mass Tort Litigation; Product Liability Litigation
Brian B. O'Neill (10) — Antitrust Law; Bet-the-Company Litigation; Commercial Litigation; Environmental Law; Oil & Gas Law
Charles T. Parks, Jr. (10) — Trusts and Estates
Walter A. Pickhardt (10) — Tax Law
Joseph M. Price — Personal Injury Litigation; Product Liability Litigation
Kent E. Richey — Gaming Law
Walter H. Rockenstein II — Land Use & Zoning Law
Rebecca L. Rom — Land Use & Zoning Law
Stephen C. Rosholt — Public Finance Law
Mark D. Savin — Eminent Domain and Condemnation Law
Elizabeth Hendricks Schmiesing — Environmental Law
Brian B. Schnell — Franchise Law
Thomas S. Schroeder — Health Care Law
David J. Shannon — Trusts and Estates
Kris Sharpe — Corporate Law; Securities Law
Jerry W. Snider — Commercial Litigation
Michael A. Stanchfield — Mergers & Acquisitions Law
John K. Steffen (10) — Tax Law
James P. Stephenson (10) — Banking Law; Corporate Law
Michael R. Stewart (10) — Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights Law
Mary E. Stumo (10) — Labor and Employment Law
David M. Vander Haar — Corporate Governance and Compliance Law; Corporate Law; Mergers & Acquisitions Law
Charles F. Webber — Commercial Litigation
John R. Wheaton (10) — Real Estate Law
Daniel G. Wilczek — Labor and Employment Law
Wendy Wildung — Commercial Litigation
Peter Withoff — Tax Law
Scott W. Wright — Immigration Law

The Best Lawyers in America compiles its annual listing of outstanding attorneys by conducting exhaustive peer-review surveys in which thousands of leading lawyers confidentially evaluate their professional peers.

The Faegre Baker Daniels website uses cookies to make your browsing experience as useful as possible. In order to have the full site experience, keep cookies enabled on your web browser. By browsing our site with cookies enabled, you are agreeing to their use. Review Faegre Baker Daniels' cookies information for more details.