August 10, 2010

The Best Lawyers in America Selects 82 Baker & Daniels Attorneys

Eighty-two Baker & Daniels attorneys have been listed in the 2011 edition of The Best Lawyers in America®, the oldest and most respected peer-review publication in the legal profession.

The firm's recognized lawyers represent 34 different practice areas and four offices — two in Indianapolis and one in Fort Wayne and South Bend. Selected Best Lawyers in more than one area of practice were 30 of Baker & Daniels' attorneys.

Among Indiana firms, Baker & Daniels has the most listed lawyers in 11 areas of practice, including corporate law with 18 attorneys, labor and employment law with seven, banking law with five, bankruptcy and creditor-debtor rights law with five, administrative law with four and nonprofit/charities law with four. Baker & Daniels also is the Indiana leader with the most Fort Wayne (13) attorneys named to Best Lawyers.

Other areas of practice where Baker & Daniels had the most lawyers or was tied for the most lawyers listed among Indiana firms were antitrust law, education law, eminent domain and condemnation law, international trade and finance law, and leveraged buyouts and private equity law.

Since its inception in 1983, Best Lawyers has become universally regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence. Because Best Lawyers is based on an exhaustive peer-review survey in which more than 39,000 leading attorneys cast almost 3.1 million votes on the legal abilities of other lawyers in their practice areas and because lawyers are not required or allowed to pay a fee to be listed, inclusion in Best Lawyers is considered a singular honor.

Corporate Counsel magazine has called Best Lawyers "the most respected referral list of attorneys in practice." The lawyers in Best Lawyers have no say in deciding the practice areas where they are listed. They are voted into practice areas entirely as a result of the votes they receive from their peers.

The 2011 edition of The Best Lawyers in America® is a registered trademark of Woodward/White, Inc. of Aiken, S.C. Baker & Daniels attorneys named to the 2011 edition are:


  • Terrill D. Albright — alternative dispute resolution and construction law
  • James A. Aschleman — corporate law and securities law
  • Donald P. Bennett — tax law
  • Ben W. Blanton — nonprofit/charities law
  • Daniel L. Boeglin — biotechnology law and corporate law
  • J. Jeffrey Brown — corporate law, leveraged buyouts & private equity law, mergers & acquisitions law and venture capital law
  • Brian K. Burke — bet-the-company litigation and commercial litigation
  • H. Patrick Callahan — corporate law
  • James M. Carr — bankruptcy & creditor-debtor rights law
  • R. Trevor Carter — intellectual property law
  • M. Angella Castille — international trade & finance law
  • A. Scott Chinn — appellate law and commercial litigation
  • Stephen A. Claffey — banking law and bankruptcy & creditor-debtor rights law
  • J. Murray Clark — administrative law and government relations law
  • Shaun Healy Clifford — administrative law
  • Patrick S. Cross — corporate law and health care law
  • Gregory N. Dale — labor & employment law
  • Francina A. Dlouhy — administrative law and tax law
  • Robert W. Elzer — trusts & estates
  • Brian S. Fennerty — corporate law and venture capital law
  • David A. Foster — banking law
  • Richard T. Freije Jr. — administrative law
  • Thomas C. Froehle — corporate law, gaming law and public finance law
  • John A. Gardner — trusts & estates
  • David A. Given — eminent domain & condemnation law and labor & employment law
  • Eric J. Groen — intellectual property law
  • Paul Lowell Haines — nonprofit/charities law
  • Terry E. Hall — bankruptcy & creditor-debtor rights law
  • David R. Hamer — banking law
  • David K. Herzog — bet-the-company litigation and commercial litigation
  • Jennett M. Hill — nonprofit/charities law
  • Jay Jaffe — bankruptcy & creditor-debtor rights law
  • Jerry R. Jenkins — antitrust law
  • David L. Johnson — corporate law and leveraged buyouts & private equity law
  • John S. Keeler — government relations law
  • Tibor D. Klopfer — corporate law and mergers & acquisitions law
  • Scott M. Kosnoff — corporate law and insurance law
  • Jon B. Laramore — appellate law
  • Mary Katherine Lisher — real estate law
  • Joseph E. Miller Jr. — education law and nonprofit/charities law
  • John T. Neighbours — labor & employment law
  • Timothy E. Niednagel — intellectual property law
  • Stephen H. Paul — real estate law
  • Hudnall A. Pfeiffer — labor & employment law
  • John W. Purcell — employee benefits law
  • Rebecca A. Richardson — banking law
  • Kent A. Rollison — trusts & estates
  • Christopher G. Scanlon — bet-the-company litigation and commercial litigation
  • Joseph M. Scimia — land use & zoning law and real estate law
  • Regina M. Sharrow — corporate law and mergers & acquisitions law
  • Jacqueline A. Simmons — environmental law
  • Gayle L. Skolnik — employee benefits law
  • Joseph L. Smith Jr. — government relations law
  • Andrew Z. Soshnick — family law
  • Cynthia K. Springer — labor & employment law
  • Robert K. Stanley — bet-the-company litigation and commercial litigation
  • Thomas G. Stayton — alternative dispute resolution, bet-the-company litigation, commercial litigation and product liability litigation
  • John Joseph Tanner — product liability litigation
  • Gregory J. Utken — labor & employment law
  • Mark A. Voigtmann — commercial litigation and construction law
  • David C. Worrell — banking law and corporate law
  • Robert S. Wynne — corporate law and mergers & acquisitions law
  • Joseph H. Yeager Jr. — bet-the-company litigation and commercial litigation

Fort Wayne

  • Jon A. Bomberger — real estate law
  • John R. Burns — bankruptcy & creditor-debtor rights law
  • Timothy J. Haffner — corporate law and mergers & acquisitions law
  • Steven H. Hazelrigg — corporate law
  • John F. Hoffman — intellectual property law
  • David P. Irmscher — intellectual property law
  • Steven L. Jackson — commercial litigation and health care law
  • Michael L. James — construction law
  • David J. Kuker — mergers & acquisitions law
  • David W. Miller — labor & employment law
  • Michael J. Nader — employee benefits law
  • Thomas M. Shoaff — corporate law
  • N. Reed Silliman — corporate law

South Bend

  • Thomas J. Brunner — commercial litigation
  • Richard L. Hill — corporate law and public finance law
  • Randolph R. Rompola — public finance law
  • Edward A. Sullivan — education law
  • Robert A. Wade — health care law
The Faegre Baker Daniels website uses cookies to make your browsing experience as useful as possible. In order to have the full site experience, keep cookies enabled on your web browser. By browsing our site with cookies enabled, you are agreeing to their use. Review Faegre Baker Daniels' cookies information for more details.